Until 8 February 2019, architects, clients and companies can submit works that have been already completed and that characterize the region to compete in the Premio Architettura Toscana awards

Premio Architettura Toscana 2018, ‘installation or interiors’ category: Museo delle Statue Stele Lunigianesi

What’s the situation of architecture in Tuscany? The second edition of Premio Architettura Toscana (PAT) will answer this question with works completed in the region in the past five years. The competition announcement is online at www.premio-architettura-toscana.it. Registrations will close on Friday, February 8th, 2019, while it will be possible to ask for information until December 21st, 2018 writing an e-mail to segreteria@premio-architettura-toscana.it.

Winner of the first PAT in the ‘first work’ category: piazza dell’immaginario

PAT promotes and monitors the transformation of Tuscany, highlighting strengths and weaknesses. Works by single architects or groups, public or private sector employees can take part in the competition. The projects can be submitted by their architects, clients, or the companies entrusted with the works. Participants can submit one work for each category but the same work can compete in different categories.

The award includes five categories:

  • first work
  • new construction
  • restoration or requalification
  • installation or interiors
  • public space, landscape architecture or regeneration
The winner in the ‘restoration or requalification’ category in 2018: Museo degli Innocenti

Organized by Consiglio regionale della Toscana, Ordine degli Architetti PPC di Firenze and Fondazione Architetti Firenze, Federazione degli Architetti della Toscana, Ordine degli Architetti PPC di Pisa, and Ance Toscana, supported by Consiglio Nazionale degli Architetti, PAT aims to encourage reflection on contemporary architecture that transforms the territory in order to spread design culture as an assurance of environmental and civil quality.

The winner in the ‘public space, landscape architecture or regeneration’ category in 2018: Piazza dei tre Re

The jury will be composed of architect Massimo Alvisi, professor and sociologist Giandomenico Amendola, architect Fabrizio Barozzi, professor and architect Luca Molinari, professor and architect Francesca Torzi. The winners will be announced on May 29th, 2019, while the awards ceremony will take place on May 30th at Palazzina Reale on piazza Stazione, home to Ordine and Fondazione Architetti Firenze, that will also host the exhibition of the winning projects. Over 140 projects took part in the first edition: five were the winners in the five categories and 15 were mentioned or selected for the travelling exhibition. [Text Paola Molteni]